Dedicated Honorees Open Doors for Students

Lourdes Foundation presents three awards each year - the President's Award, Alumni Award, and Woodruff Award. The 2016 honorees, William and Caroline Adamson, Patrick Deutsch, and Dr. George ‘Bud’ and Sandy Hohberger, were recognized at the foundation's Annual Meeting on October 12. These individuals open doors to Catholic education for students by their dedicated support through Lourdes Foundation and involvement in the Rochester Catholic School Community.

Dr. George ‘Bud’ and Sandy Hohberger, William and Caroline Adamson, and Patrick and Teri Deutsch

The President’s Award was presented to William ’51 and Caroline Adamson in recognition of their support of Lourdes Foundation and Rochester Catholic Schools, both as volunteer leaders and for their philanthropic gifts over time.

The Adamson’s involvement in the Rochester Catholic Schools community is extensive. The family’s philosophy has always been to support the church, school, and community both physically and financially. The William and Caroline Adamson Family Scholarship was established in 2007. It has been awarded to 11 students and has grown to support two students a year. Caroline also volunteered her time for the Lourdes Auction for many years.

William and Caroline have four children, all graduates of St. John’s and Lourdes High School: Joe ’83, Michael ’84, Michon ’86, and Patrick ’88. They also have twelve grandchildren who have gone through or are in the Rochester Catholic Schools.

William and Caroline Adamson pictured (L-R) with Patrick and wife, Trisha; Michael and wife, Maria; Michon (Adamson) and husband, Jeff Schaefer. Not pictured but also with the family at the event were Joe and wife, Sandy.

Patrick Deutsch ’71 received Alumnus of the Year Award in honor of the significant impact made by his support of Lourdes High School and Lourdes Foundation.

Patrick, CEO of Pace International, has helped the Deutsch Family Scholarship grow over the years. This scholarship was established in 1999 by the Deutsch family and friends in memory of Jim Deutsch. It has helped 14 students attend Lourdes High School. Patrick is also a regular supporter of the Lourdes Eagle Golf Tournament.

He and his wife, Teri, have two sons, Eric ’02 and Timothy ’04, who are both Lourdes graduates and are part of Pace International. Eric’s children are the third generation of the Deutsch family to attend Rochester Catholic Schools.

Patrick and Teri Deutsch shown (L-R) with Tim and wife, Kayla, and Eric and wife, Deanna.

The Woodruff Award was given to Dr. George ‘Bud’ and Sandy Hohberger in recognition of their substantial contributions and volunteer commitments to Lourdes High School and Lourdes Foundation for a number of years.

The Hohberger’s have been consistent supporters of Lourdes High School and Lourdes Foundation for over 30 years. Although their last child graduated from Lourdes over 15 years ago, you can find Bud and Sandy as regular fans in the stands at basketball games. Sandy helped on the Lourdes Auction Committee for many years and is currently a volunteer in the SCRIP office one morning a week.

All four of the Hohberger’s children are Lourdes graduates: Karen ’88, Julia ’91, Michael ’97, and Laurie ’99. Julia carries on the tradition of involvement in the Lourdes community, as she recently co-chaired her 25 year reunion.

Dr. George ‘Bud’ and Sandy Hohberger (center) shown (L-R) with Michael and wife, Barbara; Karen (Hohberger) Gallagher; and Julia (Hohberger) Reid.

Congratulations to all the award winners and their families who traveled from near and far to share this special evening. The Annual Meeting is open to all those interested in attending and is a special celebration of supporters of Lourdes Foundation over its forty year history.

The 2015 Annual Meeting awards were presented to the following:

The Alumni Award to Mike Muehlenbein - Awarded to an alumnus who has stayed involved with LHS or who has become a success in our society. Mike, a 1980 graduate of Lourdes, has given back so much to his high school as a coach of both Varsity Basketball and Jr High Football and leading youth mission trips with his wife Linda. Mike also serves on the Board of Trustees of Rochester Catholic Schools.

Gerry Nonn, President of the Lourdes Foundation with Mike Muehlenbein

The Woodruff Award to Sarah and Dan O'Brien (not pictured) - Awarded to significant benefactors who have also given of their time in volunteering. This award recognizes those who have demonstrated a continuing commitment to Lourdes High School. The O'Brien's have been active in their parish school of St Francis and also at Lourdes where Danny is the 6th grade football coach. In addition, they have been very supportive of health and fitness initiatives through Lourdes High School.

Mike Kesler, Rochester Catholic Schools with Sarah O'Brien

The President's Award to Jack and Mary Ann Remick - Jack and Mary Ann Remick received a standing ovation as they were honored with the President's Award for their contributions to Lourdes High School. They gave the land the school sits on and were major donors to the Building Our Future Campaign. In addition, both have a long history of service on various leadership boards for the Catholic schools in Rochester.

Gerry Nonn with Mary Ann and Jack Remick

Sr. Joy, Sr. Alice (Pope Francis), Sr. Lorraine (St. Francis) and Sr. Theresa (Native American) gave the Prayer/Invocation at the 2015 Annual Meeting

Congratulations to these enthusiastic people for their service, support and donations to the Lourdes Foundation and Lourdes High School. Thank you!

Contribute on line Now! click here
All donations are tax deductible.